Prayer (Salah)

Prayer (Salah) is one of the 5 pillars of Islam and an obligatory religious duty for every adult Muslim men and women. It is an act of worship that is observed five times every day at prescribed times.

  • Dawn (Fajr)
  • Noon (Dhuhr)
  • Afternoon (Asr)
  • Evening (Maghrib)
  • Night (Isha)

“Worship at fixed hours hath been enjoined on the believers”. – (Al-Quran)

Prayer in Islam is a direct link between the worshiper and Allah. There are no intermediaries between Allah and the worshipper. According to Islamic law, prayers have a variety of obligations and conditions of observance. In prayers a person feels inner happiness, peace and comfort and that Allah is pleased with him/her. Salat consists of five daily prayers according to Sunnah. All of these prayers are recited while facing in the direction of the Kaaba and Mecca and forms an important aspect of the Muslim Ummah. The faithful pray by bowing several times while standing and then kneeling and touching the ground or prayer mat with their foreheads, as a symbol of their reverence and submission to Allah. It is an extremely important tenet of Islam and has been enjoined with great emphasis both in the Holy Quran and the sayings of Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him).

According to saying of Prophet (peace be upon him),

“The prayer is the borderline between a Muslim and a non-believer”.

The Prophet (PBUH) said:

The first thing about which a person will be questioned on the Day of Judgment is prayer. If found to be sound all his other actions will be sound as well. If his prayer is not sound all his remaining actions would be spoiled.

No fundamental element of Islam has been stressed as much as prayer in the Holy Quran. Indeed, Allah mentions it in over 700 verses of the holy Quran.

The number of Rakaat in each prayer are as follows:


Two Sunnah
Two Fard

Four Sunnah
Four Fard
Two Sunnah
Two Nafil (Optional)

Four Sunnah (Optional)
Four Fard

Three Fard
Two Sunnat
Two Nafil (Optional)

Four Sunnah(Optional)
Four Fard
Two Sunnat
Two Nafil (Optional)
Three Witr (Wajib)
Two Nafil (Optional)